• ORWBL.com report

Ballparks to host tournament games

NEW CARLISLE- New Carlisle Hometown Days has announced that City Championship

games will be played at two Old Republic Wiffle Ball League ballparks this summer. The Palace of Bourissa Hills, home of the Pterodactyls, and Migley Field, home of the Newts, will be used for the 8th annual tournament. The Palace, part of the New Prairie Little League complex, will host pool play games on Saturday, July 28 and early rounds of the single elimination finals on Sunday, July 29. The normally spacious field will be modified to fit tournament dimensions. This will be the first year The Palace has hosted games in the tournament. Opened for ORWBL play in 2007, originally as the Banana Slugs home park, The Palace has been the home field for the Pterodactyls since 2008. Despite the ownership change prior to 2012, the 'Dactyls remain the primary tenant at the park, which has hosted numerous pick-up wiffleball games since the late 1990's. Across town, Migley Field will once again host the Hometown Cup Finals on Sunday afternoon. This will be the Friendly Confines' seventh consecutive year hosting the finals of the tournament. The ballpark actually played host to the championship of the Hometown Days tournament in 2006, prior to the ORWBL's founding in 2007. Billed as Wiffleball's Grandest Stage, Migley Field becomes the center of the wiffleball universe on the last Sunday in July, as the top four teams will compete for a chance to capture the Hometown Cup. Also of note, the Polish Grounds, former home of the Pterodactyls and later Fast Plastics, will also host early round games. The largest ballpark ever used for ORWBL play (140 feet to all fields) will be split into two fields for the tournament.

#TheWiffleballChampionship #Pterodactyls #Newts #Ballparks

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

The Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League is a slow pitch wiffleball league based in Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan founded in 2007. The league has no affiliation with the Old Republic or Historic New Carlisle, Inc.  The league holds no legal trademarks, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and all other team related content are the property/responsibility of the respective ORWBL club. World Series, American League, National League, Division Series, League Championship Series, and All-Star Game are trademarks of Major League Baseball.


“WIFFLE”, the Wiffle Certification Mark and the image of the ball are registered trademarks owned by The Wiffle Ball, Inc.