Lawrence, Potter named top Rookies

NEW CARLISLE- The Old Republic Wiffle Ball League has announced that Mike Potter of the Sour Wowers and Jake Lawrence of Emery's Army are the 2011 Rookies of the Year. Potter takes home the American League honor, after helping the South Bend Sour Wowers capture their second consecutive ORWBL Championship. Potter batted .573 with 8 home runs and 32 RBI in just 15 games for the champs. However, he did play a key role in the team's World Series sweep of the Wills Township Federalists. Potter had initially expressed interest in coming into the league as an owner, but eventually signed with the Sour Wowers. He edged out Chris Hernandez of the Maple City Magic for the American League's top rookie award. In the National League, Jake Lawrence was definitely the difference maker for Emery's Army. The franchise finished just behind the Newts in the previous two seasons, and finally broke through in 2011 with a division championship. Lawrence, who played for Cornhole in the league's inaugural season, qualifies as a rookie since he did not appear in enough games in 2007. In 33 games this season, Lawrence batted .532 with 39 home runs and 71 RBI. Much has been made of where the NL Rookie of the Year will end up in 2012. Rumors have swirled that he has reached an agreement with the Pterodactyls. However, the Newts had made a strong push to get a deal done before the trade deadline this summer. Wherever he ends up, Lawrence's plans will have a huge impact on the future of the Emery's Army franchise.

#EmerysArmy #Awards #SourWowers

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

The Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League is a slow pitch wiffleball league based in Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan founded in 2007. The league has no affiliation with the Old Republic or Historic New Carlisle, Inc.  The league holds no legal trademarks, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and all other team related content are the property/responsibility of the respective ORWBL club. World Series, American League, National League, Division Series, League Championship Series, and All-Star Game are trademarks of Major League Baseball.


“WIFFLE”, the Wiffle Certification Mark and the image of the ball are registered trademarks owned by The Wiffle Ball, Inc.