top of page

Newts sign Schmitt from B-Slugs

NEW CARLISLE- The New Carlisle Newts have made their first move of the offseason

following the first losing season in franchise history, by signing former Banana Slugs manager Brad Schmitt. Schmitt is stepping down after two years at the helm of the B-Slugs, where he compiled a 52-32 record. Brian Lockhart will replace Schmitt, and it is expected the team will relocate from its present home at Schmittfaced Field in Hudson Lake. Schmitt is a four-time All-Star, who began his career in 2008 with the New Lydick Lakers. When the Lakers folded, he signed with the Banana Slugs, playing under Adam Rehlander in 2009 before assuming ownership of the team in 2010. With the acquisition of Schmitt, all former Banana Slugs managers have spent time with the Newts. Rehlander played for the Newts during the B-Slugs hiatus in 2008. While B-Slugs founder Marc Lindsey has become synonymous with Newts wiffleball since departing the Slugs after their inaugural season. The Banana Slugs enjoyed regular season success during Schmitt's tenure, however repeatedly disappointed in the postseason and in tournament play. Schmitt requested the team be known as "Dirt" for the 2011 City Championship after a first round exit in the ORWBL playoffs. The transition will be a fresh start for Schmitt and will improve the Newts lineup. Last season not only marked the first losing season in franchise history, but also the first time the Newts failed to capture a division title.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page