top of page

Rehlander, Stainko win Cy Young

NEW CARLISLE- Pitching in a slow-pitch wiffleball league is no easy task, especially in

2012, when Old Republic Wiffle Ball League teams put up beyond-video-game offensive numbers. However, a few pitchers stood out this season. Voted on by the league’s managers, the top pitcher from the American and National Leagues were awarded the Cy Young. The 2012 Cy Young winners are Adam Rehlander of the G-Slugs in the American League and George Stainko of the Federalists in the National League. Rehlander, the longtime ace of the Slugs staff, helped Heston to the AL Division crown and League pennant. Rehlander compiled a 14-2 record with a 11.60 ERA. He struck out 14 opposing hitters in 92.1 innings pitched. With manager Brian Lockhart leaving the Slugs for the Magic, it would appear Rehlander is one of the top players on the free agent market heading into the 2013 season. In the National League, Stainko racked up a 20-7 record for the Federalists, leading them to the NL Division title before their early postseason exit. Stainko is the first 20-game winner in ORWBL history. He led all ORWBL pitchers, throwing 156.1 innings. Stainko struck out 10 batters while maintaining a 10.14 ERA. concludes its coverage of the 2012 season awards tomorrow with the announcement of the Most Valuable Player awards in each league.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page