top of page

ORWBL adds four more teams

NEW CARLISLE - The Old Republic Wiffleball League continues to grow as it gears up for the 2016 season. The league officially introduced four more expansion teams ready to begin play this upcoming summer. In addition to the Galena Marsh Dabbers, there will be five franchises playing their inaugural season this year.

With the departure of the Soggy Bottom Boys and 2015 ORWBL Champions Warriors, the league currently has 12 teams. It is expected that the league will operate with four divisions (two in the American League and two in the National League), with three teams each. As of now, there are no plans to expand beyond the 12 teams.

As expected, the South Bend market will remain in the game, as Anthony Rieff will bring the South Bend Sour Chicken Muffs into play. Rieff, who spent the last two seasons with the Warriors, will have plenty of championship experience on his roster once it's finalized.

After captaining Ain't The Ones in The Wiffleball Championship last summer, newcomer Mark Haase continues the league's expansion into Michigan, with the Great Lakes Godfathers. A final location has not yet been determined, however Haase expects to build a ballpark somewhere north of the greater New Carlisle metro area.

The Olive Township Mechanics will also enter the league after two years playing in The Wiffleball Championship. The Mechanics own an 8-3 record overall at Hometown Days, including a division title in 2015. They gained plenty of momentum building the franchise through tournaments last summer, finishing 16th in the final Grand Slam standings.

Another familiar face from The Wiffleball Championship, Nate Arndt, will also bring his squad the Jet City Junkballers into the ORWBL. Arndt was the leader of an ownership group which tried to form the County Line Lakers in 2014, but the franchise never took off. The Junkballers are expected to play at Old Rock Field, the former home of the Wills Township Federalists.

With 12 teams, the league matches its previous high from 2010. That was the last season before the adoption of the all-in postseason, which will continue despite the increased number of teams. Preliminary divisional alignments have been drawn up and will be released on once they are finalized.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page