Lawrence finally takes home Cy Young

August 17, 2015

NEW CARLISLE - With the ninth season of the Old Republic Wiffle Ball League in the books, the league will recognize its top performers of this past season. Jake Lawrence of Rolling Prairie Emery's Army has been named 2015 ORWBL Cy Young Award winner.

Lawrence was the unquestioned general of the Army, which had its best season in the franchise's long history in 2015. The 18-6 mark by Rolling Prairie was a higher winning percentage than even its 2011 division title season. EA fell just short of reaching its first ever World Series.

This summer, Lawrence also pitched his way to the Hometown Cup Finals with EA's archrival, the Newts.

Cult West's Blair Vandenburg, World Series MVP, finished second in the voting and received the most first place votes. Vandenburg was 11-2 on the year with a 5.80 ERA.  The league ERA leader, Scott Soos, finished third in the voting. Soos was lights-out when he pitched, with a 1.15 ERA.

All ORWBL awards were voted on by the managers of the league.

Please reload

Featured Posts

World Series Game 6: Maple City makes ORWBL History, Becoming the 1st Franchise to 3-Peat

August 22, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload