top of page

Campbell, VanOverberghe win inaugural Gold Glove award

NEW CARLISLE- For the first time in league history, the Old Republic Wiffleball League will be handing out Golden Glove awards. With so many talented fielders in the league, it would be a mistake to not recognize some of the best fielders in the league.

The top four nominees in each league were voted on by Managers while a 2 day twitter vote decided the 2017 Gold Glove winners. While the league will be handing out 3 Gold Gloves in each league heading forward, one player from each league takes home the 2017 honors.

In the American League, Jet City's Connor VanOverberghe edged Cabo's Dan Zeiger in an incredibly tight vote. "VanO" bursted onto the ORWBL scene this season as he made it a routine to make the outstanding plays.

Despite playing on a team with excellent fielders such as Shane Anderson, VanOverberghe gained the attention and respect of his opponents en route to winning the 1st American League Gold Glove. The Wide Receiver clearly has some incredible hands and is not someone you want to test out in the field.

Over in the National League, Granger's Seth Campbell led a lockdown defense while also finding a way to make spectacular plays. You will rarely ever see Campbell make a mistake in the field and it would be a surprise if he is not competing for a Golden Glove every season. Campbell has had a great week as he was named the NL Gold Glove winner as well as the National League Rookie of the Year honors.

While the Old Republic Wiffleball league is certainly a hitters league, it also allows for the great defensive players to show their worth out in the field. In 2018, the Gold Glove will be awarded to a Pitcher, Catcher, and Outfielder in both the American and National League.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page