top of page

Ellis, G. Smith win Cy Young

NEW CARLISLE- Throughout the week, the Old Republic Wiffleball League has been handing out its yearly honors. Today we announce the 2017 ORWBL Cy Young winners.

Wes Ellis of Maple City has been named the American League Cy Young while Griffin Smith of Granger takes home the National League honors.

Ellis, a roaver fielder transitioned to pitcher bursted onto the scene in 2016 leading the Cult West Warriors to a World Wiffleball Championship on the mound. Since then, Ellis has been the primary pitcher for Maple City as he has shined in that role. Ellis went 11-2 while striking out a ridiculous 32 batters.

Had Ellis have been able to play more this season, he likely would have broken Bryan Van Dyke's Strikeout record of 42. Regardless, it was a remarkable season for Ellis who now becomes only the 4th player to have an MVP and Cy Young award to his name.

Over in the National League, Griffin Smith bursted onto the scene as a true workhorse. Smith won all of Granger's 25 wins on the mound and became only the 2nd player in ORWBL history to reach that mark joining Shane Anderson who won 25 games in 2013. Smith has certainly taken some tips from his dad, Dave Smith who is known for his dancing knuckleball.

Smith will certainly be a staple on the mound for Granger for many years to come and this could certainly be the first of many Cy Young awards for the crafty knuckleballer in Granger. concludes its coverage of the 2017 season awards tomorrow with the announcement of the Most Valuable Player awards in each league.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page