top of page

Mechanics Advance to NLCS

OLIVE TOWNSHIP - The two-seeded Olive Township Mechanics (16-8) advanced to the National League Championship Series after defeating the three-seeded Elkhart BFAM (19-5) in two games. With the win, the Mechanics will advance to their first league championship series with and are just three wins away from their first World Series appearance.

Prior to Olive Township's victory, two sets of Wild Card games were decided, with the Lynn Street Leprechauns (6-18) taking on the Scottsdale Sluggers (8-16) in the first. In a back-and-forth affair, the Sluggers eventually came out on top. With the score tied at 13 in the bottom of the 6th, Slugger Nate Marino delivered a 2-run walk-off blast to deliver Scottsdale the victory: 15-13.

Scottsdale started the next Wild Card hot, jumping on Elkhart early. Despite leading 8-3 in the 3rd, BFAM proved to be too much for the Cinderella Sluggers in the end. BFAM defeated the Sluggers by a margin of 19-11 to advance to the NLDS. 

Following the Wild Card, it was Olive Township who was able to come away with the victory, avenging their earlier season series loss. The Kody Webb-led Mechanics defeated BFAM in the first two games of a wind-blowing-out shoot out by scores of: 14-12 OT, and 23-20 OT. 

Olive Township advances to their first NLCS in franchise history following the victory. The Mechanics will take on NL East rival New Carlisle in a best-of-five series beginning on July 14th. The Newts will host the first two games at Migley Field, with the first pitch set for 1 pm.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page