top of page

Newts Take 2-0 NLCS Lead

NEW CARLISLE - It was finally a good day for the home team at Migley Field, as the New Carlisle Newts continued their hot start in the 2019 Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League Playoffs on Sunday afternoon.

The Newts grabbed Games 1 and 2 of the National League Championship Series against the Mechanics, 7-2 and 10-3.

It was a total team effort for the New Carlisle club. Ace Jay Ryans set the tone on the mound, stifling a Mechanics offense that averaged 18.5 runs per game in their NLDS sweep of Elkhart last week.

Ryans picked up the win in Game 1, scattering two home runs on a hot day with a rare light breeze at the friendly confines.

Offensively, the Newts received contributions from everybody in the lineup. Scott Soos led the way, along with Zarek Finley, Noah Shail, Matt Went, Matt Soos, and Danny Hernandez all playing a vital role in the production.

Scott Soos was equally as impressive on the bump in Game 2, settling in after a two-run first inning to coast to a victory.

The best of five series will shift to The Garage for its conclusion in three weeks. Due to the upcoming World Wiffle®Ball Championship and The Wiffle®Ball Championship tournaments, ORWBL action will be put on hold until Sunday, August 4.

With the 2-0 lead, the Newts only need one more win to advance to the franchise's eighth World Series appearance.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page