top of page

Doran, Smith Take Home Cy Young Honors

Throughout the week, we have been announcing the 2019 ORWBL regular season awards leading up to the World Series. Today we will announce the 2019 Cy Young Award winners for both the American and National League. Stay tuned as tomorrow we will be announcing the final award as we will close out regular season awards season by announcing the AL and NL MVP's.

NEW CARLISLE- Both going 14-1 this season, Twin Branch's Andrew Doran and Granger's Griffin Smith won the 2019 Cy Young award for their respective leagues.

Both pitchers 14 wins were tops in the league as they were the workhorse for their respective teams. Both aces led their teams to the #1 seed heading into the playoffs. Since entering the league, both Doran and Smith have established themselves as elite pitchers in the league.

Only in their 2nd season in the league, the Billy Goats ace Andrew Doran has now won a National League and American League Cy Young, the 1st pitcher to ever win back to back Cy Young awards in his 1st two seasons.

Doran joins an exclusive club of Cy Young winners to have won it in both the NL and AL as he joins Shane Anderson (Federalists/Magic) and Jared Emmons (Pterodactyls/Dabbers).

Doran also joined the club of Cy Young winners to take home the honor in consecutive years joining George Stainko (2012-2013), Wes Ellis (2017-2018). It is pretty safe to say, Doran deserves this one and is on pace to win a hefty amount of Cy Young awards over the course of the future.

Switching over to the National League, Granger Panthers Ace Griffin Smith edged out Brandon Terry by 2 votes en route to his 2nd Cy Young award in the Panthers 3rd season. Had Smith not gotten injured last season, he would have likely won the Cy Young as well.

Smith who is tied for the single season all time wins record of 25 with Maple City's Shane Anderson boasts a mind blowing 48-8 record on the mound in Granger's first 3 regular seasons as he is on pace to become the ORWBL all time wins leader on the mound in just a few short years if he keeps this pace up!

Congratulations to both deserving Cy Young winners! Tomorrow we will conclude the regular season awards with the announcement of the MVP's as we are just 2 days away from the 2019 ORWBL World Series kicking off.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page