top of page

A New Age of Rising Stars: Richards, Terry Take Home MVP Honors

Throughout the week, we have been announcing the 2019 ORWBL regular season awards leading up to the World Series. Today we conclude the regular season awards as we announce the Most Valuable Player for both the American and National League. With the 2019 regular season awards now complete, it is time for the 2019 ORWBL World Series which figures to be one for the ages. Congratulations one more time to all award winners!

NEW CARLISLE- Today we conclude the announcing of the 2019 ORWBL regular season awards winners by announcing the Most Valuable Players. These two young MVP winners had incredible seasons both at the plate and on the mound.

If you have been following the awards, you know that La Porte's Mark Richards already took home the 2019 AL Most Improved Player Award while Elkhart's Brandon Terry was named the 2019 NL Rookie of the Year.

Starting out in the American League, Mark Richards pulled away in the voting as he led the American League in AVG, HR, and RBI, netting himself an American League Triple Crown. After winning a Rookie of the Year award last season with the South Bend Muffs, Richards took his game to knew heights this season with a full work load.

Richards was the only player in the league to hit 50 Home Runs this year and he also won 12 games on the mound finishing with a 12-9 record.

It was truly a breakout season for the young masher who now has won a Rookie of the Year, Most Improved Player, and MVP award just in his first 2 seasons. It is pretty safe to say the future is very bright for the La Porte Cyclones.

Switching over to the National League, B.F.AM.'s Brandon Terry won the MVP vote by 2 votes, edging out Scottsdale's Adam Cseh.

Brandon Terry exploded onto to the ORWBL scene this season as he helped lead Elkhart to a 19-5 record in their 1st season in the league. Terry hit .582 while blasting 45 Home Runs and 62 RBI's.

Like Richards, this was Terry's 2nd award in 2019 as he won the NL Rookie of the Year vote with his teammate Walter Griffin III right behind him. It is extremely impressive to see a 1st year player come in and dominate the way Terry did this year both on the mound and at the plate.

Terry also went an impressive 11-1 on the mound as he showed that he is truly a duel threat talent. He also carried a rather impressive 4.67 ERA which was lower than NL Cy Young winner Griffin Smith's.

As long as Terry continues to stay with B.F.A.M. Elkhart fans have to be absolutely overjoyed about the future of not only Terry, but the entire B.F.A.M. organization.

Congratulations to both of these deserving MVP winners who have already made a big mark in the league and will certainly be elite players for many years to come.

This officially wraps up the regular season awards as it is time to enjoy the World Series as the New Carlisle Newts head to Magic Park to take on the Maple City Magic for Games 1 and 2 tomorrow evening at 6:30pm ET!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page