top of page

South Bend’s Walter Griffin III, Griffin Smith of Granger Named 2023 Cy Young Award Winners

Throughout the week, we will be announcing the winners of each regular season award voted on by all eighteen Managers.  A player/Manager received 3 points for a 1st place vote, 2 points for a 2nd place vote, and 1 point for a 3rd place vote.  Today we will announce the 2023 American and National League Cy Young  Award winners.

Starting off in the American League, it was South Bend’s 2022 ORWBL World Series MVP Walter Griffin III who received the most votes to take home honors.

This is the first Cy Young Award for the Truffle Butter star who has had quite the run over the past few years. He has blossomed into one of the premier pitchers in the game as it is only fitting that he takes home this award.

Griffin III finished the 2023 season as the only pitcher in all of ORWBL to win 20 games. After rotating with Ryan Galiher for much of the 2022 season, Walt was able to be the horse on the mound this season.

He racked up a league leading 20 wins while sporting the 5th lowest ERA in ORWBL at 4.91. He finished with the 7th most strikeouts (10) in 129 1/3 Innings of work. He was also voted in as the American League starting pitcher in the All Star Game.

All in all, it has been a phenomenal run for Griffin III over the past few years as he will now look to help lead the Truffle Butter to Back to Back Word Series titles.

Moving over to the National League, we saw Mr. Cy Young himself, Griffin Smith take home honors once again. Last season Smith broke the record for most Cy Young Award won as he now starts to build some separation.

Smith becomes the first 5 time Cy Young Award winner as he has already cemented himself as one of the greatest ORWBL pitchers in league history. Since entering the league in 2017, Smith has won the National League Cy Young Award in five out of seven years as he is putting together a run for the ages.

He was the 2021 World Series MVP when the Granger Panthers won their title as he continues to add to an already impressive resume.

This season, Smith went 14-5 on the mound as he pitched 114 2/3 Innings. Daivyn Davis ate some of his innings this year but Smith was still able to record a league leading 15 strikeouts.

He had the 2nd lowest ERA in all of ORWBL, only behind his teammate Daivyn Davis. He once again started on the mound for the National League All Star team. Although Granger’s ORWBL season ended earlier than they are used to, they head into the off-season as back to back Hometown Cup Champions.

Awards week concludes tomorrow as we will announce the 2023 American and National League Most Valuable Player Award winners. Below are the full results for the 2023 Cy Young Awards.

American League Cy Young Award Final Results:

1st: Walter Griffin III: 41 (Truffle Butter)

2nd: Zach Christy: 26 (Pink Pandas)

3rd: Jared Jonkman: 24 (Magic)

T4th: Tommy Sinkiewicz: 1 (Godfathers)

T4th: Brycen Strauch: 1 (Beers)

National League Cy Young Award Final Results:

1st: Griffin Smith: 39 (Panthers)

2nd: Luke Armstrong: 18 (Leprechauns)

T3rd: Andrew Doran: 14 (Billy Goats)

T3rd: Doug Benner: 14 (Heat)

5th: Kadin Abegg: 7 (Billy Goats)

Daivyn Davis: 6 (Panthers)

Kade Stone: 4 (Skeeters)

Aidan Cotter: 3 (Newts)

Jake Lawrence: 2 (Billy Goats)

Jarrod Michael: 1 (Knights)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page