top of page

2012 Postseason Format announced

NEW CARLISLE- For the second consecutive year, all Old Republic Wiffle Ball League teams will have a shot at the ORWBL World Series, regardless of their regular season performance. The Commissioner's Office has announced that, once again, all teams without any forfeits will advance to the postseason. The ORWBL enjoyed its first forfeit-free season last year after the incentive was implemented. Teams also will be refunded two-thirds of their league fees if they complete all their games. Despite allowing all 10 teams to compete in the postseason, the format will aim to reward teams for a strong regular season. 2012 Tentative Postseason Schedule and Format: Wild Card Round (1-game playoff) Thursday, July 26, 2012

  1. 5th-place AL @ 4th-place AL

  2. 5th-place NL @ 4th place NL

Division Series (Best of 3) Monday, July 30, 2012

  1. 4/5 AL winner @ AL Division Champion

  2. 3rd-place AL @ 2nd-place AL

  3. 4/5 NL winner @ NL Division Champion

  4. 3rd-place NL @ 2nd-place NL

(High seed has homefield throughout series) League Championship Series (Best of 5) Wednesday, August 1, 2012 & Sunday, August 5, 2012

  1. ALDS winner (1) vs. ALDS winner (2)

  2. NLDS winner (3) vs. NLDS winner (4)

(High seed has homefield advantage in a 2-3 format) ORWBL World Series (Best of 7) Wednesday, August 8, 2012 Games 1 & 2: AL Champion vs. NL Champion Sunday, August 12, 2012 Games 3, 4 & 5*: AL Champion vs. NL Champion Wednesday, August 15, 2012 Games 6* & 7*: AL Champion vs. NL Champion (Homefield advantage will go to winning league of All-Star Game) * - If necessary


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page