top of page

Truffle Butter Clinch Back To Back World Series Titles After Beating Newts in 7 Games

NEW CARLISLE- The 2023 ORWBL World Series went down as one of the most competitive that we have ever seen as the South Bend Truffle Butter won an amazing series in 7 Games. The National League Champion New Carlisle Newts had the defending champs on the ropes in Game 7 before Chaz Boyd became a World Series hero.

Behind a couple of walk off HR's by Josh Trim and Ryan Voges, South Bend took an early lead in the series before things shifted over to Migley. Despite trailing in the series, New Carlisle came to play as they took the defending champion Truffle Butter to the brink of elimination. After even-ing up the series at 3 games apiece, the momentum had completely shifted in New Carlisle's favor.

New Carlisle held the lead in Game 7 before the unlikely hero Chaz Boyd started their big rally while also capping it off. It was quite a moment for Boyd who was one of the few members of the Truffle Butter to become a 1st time World Series Champion. South Bend ended up clinching back to back World Series titles after winning a thrilling Game 7 in a game that will go down for the ages.

For South Bend, they joined a storied group of teams as they became only the 4th franchise in ORWBL history to repeat as Champions (Sour Wowers- 2010-2011, Newts- 2013-2014, & Magic- 2017-2020). The big three of Manager Ryan Galiher, MVP Brandon Terry, and Cy Young Walter Griffin III all capped off special seasons en route to a 2nd straight World Series title while the entire roster all had big moments as mentioned.

After winning all 4 games on the mound along with his stellar numbers at the plate, South Bend's Walter Griffin III took home the World Series MVP honors for a record 2nd straight season!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page