top of page

County Line's Kody Webb and Josh Trim from Union Mills Named 2021 Gold Glove Winners.

Throughout the week, the Old Republic Wiffleball League will be handing out its yearly honors. Today we announce the winners of the Gold Glove awards from both the American and National League.

Managers voted for their top three in each category for both the American and National League. Players/Managers received 3 points for a 1st place vote, 2 points for a 2nd place vote, and 1 point for a 3rd place vote. The votes were then added up to determine the winner of each award. At the end of the week once all votes are handed out, the ballots will be made public.

In the American League, it was County Line's star left-fielder Kody Webb who received the most votes as he became the first player in ORWBL history to win the award on three different occasions. Webb won his first Gold Glove award back in 2019 when he took home National League honors while playing for the Mechanics.

Webb then made the shift over to the American League before the 2020 season where he signed with the County Line Kings. Last year, Webb became the first player to win the award in both the American and National League and now becomes the first player to win the award in three consecutive seasons.

There is no doubt that Webb has become the most respected fielder in the league as he has truly been a difference maker out in left for the Kings over the course of the past two seasons.

Webb's lockdown defense in left played a vital role in County Line's regular season success as they put together another fantastic regular season, going 22-8 this year. County Line erased a 6 run deficit in the Wild Card game as they came back to take down the Mill Pond Pink Pandas by the score of 10-7. The Kings season came to a close in the NLDS where they bowed out to the 4x defending champion Maple City Magic but Webb's stellar defense was put on display all season long as he certainly deserves the recognition.

Moving over to the National League it was 2020 NL Rookie of the Year winner Josh Trim who received the most votes as he takes home the 2021 National League Gold Glove award.

After winning the NL Rookie of the Year vote last year, Trim continued to take strides as he improved his game both at the plate and out in the field. The league got a chance to see glimpses of Trim's excellence in the field last year but it was really put on full display this year for the entire league to see.

Union Mills finished each of their first two seasons with a 5-19 record as they put together their finest season yet here in 2021 as they finished the regular season with a 12-18 record. Trim's defense played a vital role in Union Mills taking a big step forward this year.

All in all, Trim has put together an excellent first two seasons in the league as he now adds a Gold Glove award to his list of accomplishments along with the NL Rookie of the Year award that he won last year.

Tomorrow, awards week continues as we will announce the American and National League Comeback Players of the Year winners. Here is the full list of players to have received a vote for the Gold Glove award. All of the Managers ballots will be made public once all award are handed out.

American League Gold Glove Award:

  1. Kody Webb: 39 votes (Kings)

  2. Brandon Terry: 19 votes (Cyclones)

  3. Caleb Jonkman: 15 votes (Magic)

  4. Todd Snyder: 6 votes (Pink Pandas)

  5. Lucas Oletti: 3 votes (Billy Goats)

  6. Bob Bushman: 3 votes (Heat)

  7. David Ooms: 2 votes (OTF)

  8. Bailey Rhed: 2 votes (Heat)

  9. Zach Christy: 2 votes (Pink Pandas)

  10. Tyler Shupert: 1 vote (Wildcards)

  11. Wes Ellis: 1 vote (Magic)

  12. Walter Griffin III: 1 vote (Cyclones)

  13. Kevin May: 1 vote (Wildcards)

  14. DJ Hill: 1 vote (Wildcards)

National League Gold Glove Award:

  1. Josh Trim: 17 votes (Goon Squad)

  2. Daivyn Davis: 13 votes (Panthers)

  3. Levi Miller: 10 votes (Leprechauns)

  4. Chaz Boyd: 9 votes (Godfathers)

  5. Seth Campbell: 8 votes (Panthers)

  6. Austin Williams: 5 votes (Panthers)

  7. Garrett Ruiz: 5 votes (Newts)

  8. Joey Schuster: 5 votes (Meatspins)

  9. Randy Schuster: 4 votes (Meatspins)

  10. Sean Touhey: 4 votes (Newts)

  11. Noah Shail: 2 votes (Newts)

  12. Anthony. Rieff: 2 votes (Meatspins)

  13. Ryan Galiher: 2 points (Truffle Butter)

  14. Erick Mentock: 1 point (Meatspins)

  15. Ryan Warmoth: 1 point (Meatspins)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page