Stanisci, Soos named Rookies of the Year

NEW CARLISLE- As the Old Republic Wiffle Ball League has expanded, more and more

new players have entered the league each season. To recognize the accomplishments of first year players, managers voted for Rookie of the Year in both the American and National Leagues. The 2012 Rookies of the Year are Luke Stanisci of the Pterodactyls in the American League and the Warriors’ Scott Soos in the National League. Stanisci was one of the few bright spots during the Pterodactyls’ dismal 2012 season. Bourissa Hills finished last in the American League at 11-31. The turmoil at The Palace reached its peak half-way through the season when Kody Gorny was replaced at manager by Nick Dobkins. Along with Dobkins, Stanisci provided much needed stability in the ‘Dactyls lineup. In 39 games, Stanisci batted .544 with 76 HR and 132 RBI. For Soos, the Rookie of the Year honor is the second award he claims in the National League after being named Manager of the Year yesterday. Virtually any member of the 2012 ORWBL Champions could have received the award, as the entire Cult West roster made their debut this season. In fact, Soos narrowly edged teammate Jay Ryans in the voting for the top rookie award. Soos batted .618 with 79 HR and 124 RBI. will continue to provide coverage of the 2012 season awards. On Wednesday, the Cy Young winners from each league will be announced.

#Warriors #Awards #Pterodactyls

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

The Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League is a slow pitch wiffleball league based in Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan founded in 2007. The league has no affiliation with the Old Republic or Historic New Carlisle, Inc.  The league holds no legal trademarks, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and all other team related content are the property/responsibility of the respective ORWBL club. World Series, American League, National League, Division Series, League Championship Series, and All-Star Game are trademarks of Major League Baseball.


“WIFFLE”, the Wiffle Certification Mark and the image of the ball are registered trademarks owned by The Wiffle Ball, Inc.