Series familiar territory for Serge

NEW CARLISLE - The New Carlisle Newts signed Matt Serge with one goal in mind: win a

championship. The ace pitcher and all-time Old Republic Wiffle Ball League batting leader is looking to establish a personal dynasty, looking for his third championship in four years. Already a City Champion from his Speedy's Chickenheads career, Serge entered the league in 2010. He took over the reigns of the South Bend franchise and led them to two consecutive titles. In his first season, he earned AL Manager of the Year. He has also taken home impressive hardware for his individual efforts on the field. In 2011, Serge was named both Most Valuable Player and Cy Young for the American League. He is one of only three players in league history to win both awards in their career. Serge's performance with the Newts this year will make a strong case for another MVP award. At times, he has carried New Carlisle. In an early season series against defending champion Cult West, the Newts showed the league they were back with a sweep. Serge got all three wins on the mound, allowing just one run. He also provided most of the offense. Serge homered three times in the series, including the game winner in the top of the sixth of the Newts' 1-0 victory in game one. Serge, along with his brother Mike, and Andy Ellam (all former Sour Wowers) have provided championship experience for a New Carlisle franchise which has historically been plaqued by postseason disappointment.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

The Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League is a slow pitch wiffleball league based in Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan founded in 2007. The league has no affiliation with the Old Republic or Historic New Carlisle, Inc.  The league holds no legal trademarks, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and all other team related content are the property/responsibility of the respective ORWBL club. World Series, American League, National League, Division Series, League Championship Series, and All-Star Game are trademarks of Major League Baseball.


“WIFFLE”, the Wiffle Certification Mark and the image of the ball are registered trademarks owned by The Wiffle Ball, Inc.