Back at it again: Newts win the National League Pennant, advancing to the World Series.

NEW CARLISLE - The New Carlisle Newts are headed back to the ORWBL World Series, after defeating the Saugany Lake White Lightning, 3-1, in the National League Championship Series.

It marks the fourth consecutive trip to the World Series for New Carlisle. The Newts won back-to-back titles in 2013 and 2014, but fell in seven games to Cult West in 2015. It is the franchise's ORWBL-record sixth appearance in the nine-year history of the World Series.

The Newts got off to a slow start in the NLCS, falling behind 7-1 in Game 1 on the road. New Carlisle stormed back to score 14 straight before holding on for a 14-10 win.

Saugany Lake earned a split at home with an 11-6 victory in Game 2. The Lightning were nearly unbeatable at home this year, losing only one home game in the regular season, a 16-6 defeat at the hands of the Newts in the season finale.

Back at Migley, the Newts were able to regain control and held the lead for much of Games 3 and 4, winning 11-7 and 6-4 respectively to clinch the pennant.

While it was not the story book ending that Saugany Lake had hoped for, it was still quite a memorable season for the White Lightning who had a breakout 2016 campaign. There is no doubt that they will be a major threat for years to come.

New Carlisle, who holds home-field advantage due to the National League's decisive All-Star Game victory, awaits the American League Champion in the World Series to begin after The Wiffleball Championship next weekend. Maple City currently holds a 2-0 lead over the Hudson Lake Heat in the ALCS.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

The Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League is a slow pitch wiffleball league based in Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan founded in 2007. The league has no affiliation with the Old Republic or Historic New Carlisle, Inc.  The league holds no legal trademarks, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and all other team related content are the property/responsibility of the respective ORWBL club. World Series, American League, National League, Division Series, League Championship Series, and All-Star Game are trademarks of Major League Baseball.


“WIFFLE”, the Wiffle Certification Mark and the image of the ball are registered trademarks owned by The Wiffle Ball, Inc.