Newts Return to NLCS with Upset of Panthers

GRANGER - The four-seeded New Carlisle Newts (12-12) advanced to the National League Championship Series after defeating the top seeded Granger Panthers (21-3) in two games. With the win, New Carlisle avenges last year's NLDS loss where they lost to the Panthers in the best-of-three series.

The Newts won the Wild Card in extras, narrowly defeating the fifth seeded Saugauny Lake Landsharks (11-13). In the one-game playoff, it was Mr. Newt himself who played hero for New Carlisle's team in extras, as Garrett Curless delivered a walk-off to down the 'Sharks by a margin of 8-7.

Following the Wild Card, the Newts stayed hot against the Panthers in the best-of-three series. New Carlisle defeated Granger in the first two games to send ORWBL's top seeded team home early by scores of: 11-10 NC, and 4-2 NC. 

New Carlisle advances to the NLCS yet again after being knocked out early last year. The three-time champs will take on NL East rival Olive Township in a best-of-five series beginning on July 14th. The Newts will host the first two games at Migley Field, with the first pitch set for 1 pm.

#Landsharks #Newts #Panthers #SeriesRecap

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

The Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League is a slow pitch wiffleball league based in Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan founded in 2007. The league has no affiliation with the Old Republic or Historic New Carlisle, Inc.  The league holds no legal trademarks, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and all other team related content are the property/responsibility of the respective ORWBL club. World Series, American League, National League, Division Series, League Championship Series, and All-Star Game are trademarks of Major League Baseball.


“WIFFLE”, the Wiffle Certification Mark and the image of the ball are registered trademarks owned by The Wiffle Ball, Inc.