top of page

Several players named to National Teams

NEW CARLISLE- The National Wiffle League Association recently announced its 2011

National Teams, recognizing the top pitchers, hitters, rookies, and fielders from across the country. Six different ORWBL players received National Team recognition. National League Most Valuable Player and Cy Young winner Tony Koch was named to the First Team Hitters. Koch batted .672 with 46 home runs and 86 RBI. Koch also received Third Team Pitchers recognition for his 7-0 record with 2 strikeouts and a 3.89 ERA. The New Carlisle Newts tandem of Garrett Curless and Koby Keck were also named to the National First Team Hitters. Curless batted .530 with 49 home runs and 88 RBI. Keck hit .500 with 48 home runs, and also drove in 88 runs. Curless also received a Wiffy Award for Home Run King of the Year. Three rookies made an impact as well. NL Rookie of the Year Jake Lawrence was named to the First Team Rookies. Lawrence hit .532 with 39 home runs and 71 RBI for the NL Division Champions Emery's Army. Chris Hernandez of the Maple City Magic was recognized for his .391 average with 19 home runs and 31 RBI by being named to the Second Team Rookies. Hernandez narrowly missed out on the AL Rookie of the Year. Mike Potter, was was named AL Rookie of the Year, received Third Team Rookies honors. Potter batted .573 with 8 home runs and 32 RBI for the ORWBL World Series Champions Sour Wowers.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page