Friedman, Cotter win Manager of the Year honors

NEW CARLISLE- Throughout the week, the Old Republic Wiffleball League has been handing out its yearly honors. Today we announce the 2017 AL and NL Manager of the Year award winners.

In the American League, Maple City's Alex Friedman edged out Cabo's Grant Duncan to take home his 4th Manager of the Year while Olive Township's Aidan Cotter took home the National League honors.

For Friedman, this is his 4th Manager of the Year award which only trails New Carlisle's Koby Keck who has 6 to his name. Friedman had another great offseason, signing the Jonkman and Rieff brothers. Despite not having a consistent lineup every week, Friedman pieced together the right lineup every week, as he helped lead Maple City to an AL best 22-8 record.

Over in the National League, Aidan Cotter racked up votes despite his Mechanics finishing with the 3rd best record in the NL. Overall, it was a well deserved award for Cotter who helped lead the Mechanics to major improvements in 2016. Cotter has officially put the Mechanics franchise on the map and the future is bright over in Olive Township. continues its coverage on the 2017 award winners as the American and National League Cy Young winners will be announced tomorrow.

#Magic #Mechanics

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

The Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League is a slow pitch wiffleball league based in Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan founded in 2007. The league has no affiliation with the Old Republic or Historic New Carlisle, Inc.  The league holds no legal trademarks, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and all other team related content are the property/responsibility of the respective ORWBL club. World Series, American League, National League, Division Series, League Championship Series, and All-Star Game are trademarks of Major League Baseball.


“WIFFLE”, the Wiffle Certification Mark and the image of the ball are registered trademarks owned by The Wiffle Ball, Inc.