top of page

South Bend sweeps WTF for second straight crown

MILL CREEK- New year, same result. The South Bend Sour Wowers have once again taken

the Old Republic Wiffle Ball League Championship, with a sweep of the Wills Township Federalists in the 2011 ORWBL World Series. Since their 9-0 postseason run in 2010 as the American League Wild Card, the Sour Wowers have been virtually unstoppable. South Bend rolled through the regular season with the best record in wiffleball (34-8), and once again swept through the postseason. On the road to the World Series, the Sour Wowers defeated the Maple City Magic and the Bourissa Hills Pterodactyls in the AL Championship. A World Series rematch was in order, as the Wills Township Federalists took the National League pennant for the second consecutive season. However just like in 2010, South Bend dominated by sweeping the series, 11-9, 11-6, 6-5, and 5-2. The Sour Wowers become the first team in ORWBL history to win back-to-back league championships. They also prevented the Federalists from becoming the first National League team to ever win the World Series. South Bend has now become the class of the ORWBL. The franchise's all-time record of 90-36 is the best as far as winning percentage among active franchises. Matt Serge (64-20), completing his second year as skipper, also owns the highest winning percentage among active managers. The South Bend franchise entered the league in 2009 as the Bajer Beerfarts, missing the postseason despite finishing 26-16. In addition to their two ORWBL Championships, the team won the 2009 City Championship, competing as Speedy's Chickenheads. They have made a record three trips to the Final Four in the annual Hometown Days tournament. Currently ranked fifth in the NWLA polls, the Sour Wowers are a legitimate contender for the 2011 National Championship, announced in October.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page