Anderson, Stainko win Cy Young

NEW CARLISLE- Pitching in a slow-pitch wiffleball league is no easy task, especially over

the past few seasons, when Old Republic Wiffle Ball League teams put up beyond-video- game offensive numbers. However, a few pitchers stood out this season. Voted on by the league’s managers, the top pitcher from the American and National Leagues were awarded the Cy Young. The 2013 Cy Young winners are Shane Anderson of the Magic in the American League and George Stainko of the Federalists in the National League. Anderson, the all-time ORWBL wins leader entering the season, racked up 25 victories in 2013. He also broke his own record for most strikeouts in a season with 31. Anderson posted a career-best 5.24 ERA, helping the Magic to the first division title and league pennant in franchise history. Anderson has now won the Cy Young in both leagues, previously winning the NL award in 2010. In the National League, Stainko becomes the first pitcher to win back-to-back Cy Young awards. Although his win total (16) was down from a year ago (20), his 4.95 ERA this season is an ORWBL single-season record. Stainko's Cy Young is the fourth straight for the Federalists franchise, which has folded. If he chooses to continue his ORWBL career, Stainko will obviously be a top target in the free agent market. concludes its coverage of the 2013 season awards tomorrow with the announcement of the Most Valuable Player awards in each league.

#Magic #CyYoung #Federalists #Awards

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

The Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League is a slow pitch wiffleball league based in Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan founded in 2007. The league has no affiliation with the Old Republic or Historic New Carlisle, Inc.  The league holds no legal trademarks, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and all other team related content are the property/responsibility of the respective ORWBL club. World Series, American League, National League, Division Series, League Championship Series, and All-Star Game are trademarks of Major League Baseball.


“WIFFLE”, the Wiffle Certification Mark and the image of the ball are registered trademarks owned by The Wiffle Ball, Inc.